(828) 631-2500 Info@FrankLayLaw.com

Practice Areas

DWI Assessment

– Criminal Defense lawyer

If charged with a DWI, a DWI assessment will be an integral part of your defense. The
assessment involves meeting with a substance abuse counselor to determine if an alcohol or
drug abuse issue exists. There are two parts to a DWI assessment: a “clinical interview” and a
NC DWI Services approved “standardized substance abuse test.” Learn more about MDWI Assessment

dwi assessment dwi arrest dwi lawyer

DWI Assessment

You cannot receive a Limited Driving Privilege without a DWI Assessment. DWI and Substance
Abuse assessments and groups can only be conducted by facilities licensed by the state of
North Carolina to meet requirements to restore your driver’s license.

While the outcomes of an assessment vary based on the individual, possible outcomes of the
DWI assessment are no alcohol or drug use disorder or mild, moderate or severe, alcohol
and/or drug use disorder.

Allow at least 90 minutes for the DWI assessment. An NC DWI assessment requires your
lifetime driving record and the printout of your breath/blood test. The cost of NC DWI
Assessments is $100. The $100 fee is established by the Legislature of the State of NC. No
agency in the state of NC is allowed by law to charge more or less than the lawful $100 fee. The
full fee is to be collected at the time of the assessment. You can choose any DWI assessment
agency you want.

Contact Us

439 W. Main St
Sylva, North Carolina
 
(828) 631-2500

Contact Us About Your Case